Year-At-A-Glance

We hope these dates are helpful for planning ahead. Dates are subject to change, any changes will be shared in the SMS Express, the weekly parent newsletter.

NOTE: FY= Foundation Years (K-4), MY = Middle Years (5-8), SY = Senior Years (9-12)


Year-at-a-Glance (2016-2017)

Download key dates for the whole school in a print friendly version (updated: August 30)

Download residence key dates for our boarding program in a print friendly version. (updated: August 31)


Three Year Calendar (2017-2020)

Download our new Three Year Calendar to plan ahead for 2017-2020. (dates subject to change: updated March 10)


Current Year

FY= Foundation Years (K-4), MY = Middle Years (5-8), SY = Senior Years (9-12)

Fall: 2016

August 26 – September 2       IEL Orientation

August 29 – September 6       Early Childhood Education (ECE) Centre Closed – no JK classes

Sunday, September 4               Residence open for returning boarders

Tuesday, September 6             Admin Day – no classes, MY & SY New Student Orientation

Wednesday, September 7       Welcome Back: ECE and K one hour, Gr. 1-4 half day, MY & SY full day

Thursday, September 8            First Full Day of classes for all grades

September 18 – 23                   Outweek

Monday, October 10                 Thanksgiving Holiday, school closed

Friday, October 21                    Non-instructional Day, school closed, ECE open, camps available

Thursday, October 27              FY/MY Parent-Teacher Conferences (3:30–8:00pm)

Friday, October 28                    FY/MY Parent-Teacher Conferences (9:00–12:00pm), no FY/MY classes

Thursday, November 10          Remembrance Day Service

Friday, November 11                Remembrance Day, school closed

Monday, November 14            Non-instructional Day, school closed for Midterm break, ECE closed, no camps

Monday, December 5               SY Parent-Teacher Conferences (1:00–7:30pm), no SY classes

Friday, December 9                   School closes at end of day for Holidays

Sunday, December 10              Residence closes

December 19 – January 2       ECE Closed, no camps

Winter: 2017

Monday, January 2                   Residence opens

Tuesday, January 3                  First Day of classes for all grades

Friday, February 10                  Non-instructional Day, school closed, ECE open, camps available

Monday, February 13               BC Family Day Holiday, school closed

Wednesday, February 15        FY & MY Student-led Conferences (3:00 – 6:00pm)

Tuesday, March 7                     SY Parent-Teacher Conferences (3:45 – 7:00pm)

Friday, March 10                       School closes at end of day for Holidays

Saturday, March 11                  Residence closes

March 20 – 24                           ECE Closed, no camps

Spring: 2017

Sunday, March 26                   Residence opens

Monday, March 27                  First Day of classes for all grades

Saturday, April 8                      SMS Community Golf Tournament

Friday, April 14                         Good Friday Holiday, school closed

Monday, April 17                      Easter Monday Holiday, school closed

April 20 & 21                             Girls’ STEM Leadership Conference: Heads & Hearts to Action

Friday, May 19                          Non-instructional Day, school closed, ECE open, camps available

Monday, May 22                       Victoria Day Holiday, school closed

June 22 – June 26                   BC Provincial Exams*

Friday, June 23                         FY & MY Last Day of Classes (half day)

Saturday, June 24                    Closing Ceremony

June 26 – 30                             ECE Closed, no camps

Tuesday, June 27                    Residence closes

  *Please note that all Senior Years students MUST be available for Provincial Exams in June. Arrangements for travel should be made well in advance so that students do not miss important school time.